About us

Hutt Valley Disabled Resources Trust (HVDRT) was formed in 1981 and have been at the same address for the past 30 years, behind St Mark’s Church at 60 Woburn Road, Lower Hutt.

We started life as a trust, operating a sheltered workshop which was formed by parents who were concerned about their intellectually disabled children once they left school.

In 2005 the trust closed the workshop and started to provide a more holistic range of services to our core clientele; people with intellectual disabilities in the Hutt Valley. We have people with sensory and physical disabilities now as well.

Our services centre around our clients

Throughout the past 30 years we have always seen the person with disabilities as paramount to all the services, programmes and activities that we as a trust offer, remembering that it is their lives and their choice. We have worked with families/whanau and caregivers to make this happen and we believe that with our young guns programme we will see another step in the holistic services we are able to offer people with disabilities, and continue the excellent services we provide here in the Hutt Valley.

Philosophy

We value the innate dignity of the individual and their contribution to society.

Vision

All people with disabilities have the right to informed choice in any decisions affecting their lives.

Mission statement

We aim to develop in our clients a lasting enthusiasm for personal achievement and the confidence and ability to live and work to their fullest potential.

Living Wage employers
not-for-prof-winner-web

See the programmes that we offer

Contact us for further information

Our team

Chief Executive Officer
Susan Gray
susan.gray@hvdrt.org.nz

New Initiatives Manager
Fiona Love
fiona.love@hvdrt.org.nz

Administration 
Jessica Johnstone
info@hvdrt.org.nz

Young Guns Team Leader
Henry King
henry.king@hvdrt.org.nz

Young Guns Support
Jaymie Rangiuia
jaymie.rangiuia@hvdrt.org.nz

Transition Coordinator
Andrew McKay
andrew.mckay@hvdrt.org.nz

Service Delivery Team Leader
Tracey Petterson
tracey.petterson@hvdrt.org.nz

Community Coordinator
Tania Rings
tania.rings@hvdrt.org.nz

Community Networking
Sina Irwin
sina.irwin@hvdrt.org.nz

Health & Safety
Dorothy Wilson
dorothy.wilson@hvdrt.org.nz

Cleaner
Malu Tutogi
malu.tutogi@hvdrt.org.nz

Chair Person
Gabriel Tupou
gabriel.tupou@hvdrt.org.nz

Deputy Chair
TBC

Member
Marlene Wilkinson
thewilkinsons@clear.net.nz

Member
Keith Flavell
info@hvdrt.org.nz

Member
Franscis Lo
francis.lo@whitireia.ac.nz

Client Representative
Conrad Clarke
info@hvdrt.org.nz

Patron of Hutt Valley Disabled Resources Trust
Mayor of Hutt City, Ray Wallace
ray.wallace@huttcity.govt.nz

DONATE